Baez Tabbed D2CCA Second Team All-South Region

Baez Tabbed D2CCA Second Team All-South Region

Daytona Beach, Fla. – Michael Baez of the Lynn University men's basketball team has been named to the 2018-19 Division II Conference Commissioner's Association All-South Region Second Team, announced on Friday morning.

Baez becomes the sixth D2CCA (formerly Daktronics) All-South Region honoree in the program's history and the first to earn the award since Aaron Harrison in 2014-15.

Last week, Baez was picked as a First Team All-Sunshine State Conference selection, marking the first All-SSC First Team plaudit for Lynn since Harrison in 2014-15.

After playing in a sixth-man role last year when he came to Lynn as a junior-transfer, Baez has exploded this season as a senior, starting in all 29 games. He leads the team and ranks fourth in the SSC in scoring at 18.1 points per game. Baez averages a team-high 31.1 minutes per game while shooting effectively from all areas of the floor, ranking in the top three on the team in field-goal percentage, 3-pt percentage and free-throw percentage.

Baez has notched double figures in all but three games while scoring 20+ in 12 contests. His marquee outing was a career-high 38-point effort in a 99-98 overtime win over No. 16 Florida Southern, resulting in SSC Player of the Week honors the following Monday.

The squad was selected by NCAA Division II Sports Information Directors from institutions and conference offices in the South Region, made up of the Gulf South Conference, Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, and Sunshine State Conference.

The SSC Player of the Year, Jonathan Lawton of Florida Southern, was also named the D2CCA South Region Player of the Year.

The 2018-19 D2CCA men's basketball All-America team will be announced on Tuesday, March 26. The five first-team members from each of the country's eight regions are placed on the national ballot with NCAA Division II Sports Information Directors selecting first, second and third-team All-America honorees. The Ron Lenz Player of the Year will also be chosen from a list comprised of the eight Regional Players of the Year.

View the full list of honorees HERE.