Gana & Villar Named GCAA Jack Nicklaus Award Semifinalists

Gana & Villar Named GCAA Jack Nicklaus Award Semifinalists

NORMAN, Okla. – Semifinalists for the 2019 Division II Jack Nicklaus Men's Golf National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol have been announced with Lynn University's Toto Gana and Jorge Villar earning recognition. Division II finalists will be announced May 15 with the winner selected on May 30. 

Gana and Villar have led the Fighting Knights to a No. 2 national ranking and a berth to the 2019 NCAA Division II South/Southeast Regional.  Gana, a First Team All-Sunshine State Conference selection, paces the team with a 71.43 stroke average and six top-10 finishes, including a victory at the NCAA DII Preview.  Villar has a 72.07 average and three top-10 finishes after receiving an All-SSC Second Team nod. 

Nine of the 30 semifinalists hail from the SSC.  Barry has three semifinalists followed by Lynn with two and Florida Tech, Nova Southeastern, Rollins and Saint Leo recording one. 

The Nicklaus Award recipients (Division II and III) will be announced May 30 with the honor presented by Jack Nicklaus at a ceremony during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide at Muirfield Village Golf Club. In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR's Barbasol Championship, held July 18-21, at the Champions at Keene Trace in Lexington, Ky. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 1 at The Ohio State University Golf Club's Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio - the same club where Jack Nicklaus played collegiate golf for the Buckeyes. 

Division II Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award presented by Barbasol Semifinalists

Mauro Baez, Flagler
Tyler Bakich, Barry
Will Barnett, CSU East Bay
Christian Bosso, West Florida
Dan Bradbury, Lincoln Memorial
Sam Broadhurst, Lincoln Memorial
Alberto Castagnara, Saint Leo
Jake Doggett, Midwestern State
Jordan Doull, Columbus State
Morgan Egloff, Rollins
Tom Forster, Carson-Newman
Toto Gana, Lynn
Jorge Garcia, Barry
Emilio Gonzalez, St. Mary's (TX)
Devin Gregg, Sonoma State
Juan Jose Guerra, Nova Southeastern
Matthew Hedges, CSU Monterey Bay
Zach James, Southeastern Oklahoma State
Samuel Jones, West Georgia
Vincent Norrman, Georgia Southwestern
Max O'Hagan, Florida Tech
Gonzalo Pan De Soraluce, Western New Mexico
Alex Scott, Grand Valley State
Kelley Sullivan, Chico State
Elis Svard, CSU Monterey Bay
Joel Sylvan, Missouri-St. Louis
Yente Van Doren, Lindenwood
Jorge Villar, Lynn
Niclas Weiland, Barry
Zach Zediker, Delta State

About the Fighting Knights  
Lynn University's national champion Fighting Knights compete in baseball, basketball, cross country, golf, lacrosse, softball, soccer, swimming, tennis, track and volleyball. The university's 19 intercollegiate teams are home to over 300 student athletes. Lynn is a National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II institution and winner of 24 national championships and 42 Sunshine State Conference titles. Representing spirit, service and strength, the Fighting Knights strive for greatness through athletic performance and academic excellence. For more information, visit: