Bartmann Honored Twice; Men’s Tennis Trio Collects All-SSC Laurels

Bartmann Honored Twice; Men’s Tennis Trio Collects All-SSC Laurels

Melbourne, Fla. – Three members of the Lynn University men's tennis squad garnered 2019 All-Sunshine State Conference accolades on Wednesday, as voted on by the league's men's tennis coaches. In singles, Lucca Baptista was named to the All-SSC First Team and Kay Bartmann was tabbed to the All-SSC Second Team. Bartmann secured his second honor of the day with a spot on the All-SSC First Team Doubles alongside Florian Clemares.

Baptista, in his first season as a Fighting Knight, picks up his first accolade from the league. The Lynn men's tennis program has now had at least one player named to the All-SSC First Team Singles for the 15th consecutive season.

The sophomore Division I transfer played at the No. 2 singles flight for Lynn in every match this season, posting a 14-3 overall record with a 6-2 mark in SSC play. He went 1-1 vs. nationally-ranked opponents and was nationally ranked in singles for two weeks. Baptista's 14 singles victories ranked second most on the squad.

Bartmann, in his third and final year at Lynn, collects the first singles All-SSC honor of his career after being named Second Team in doubles last season as a junior. The Stuttgart, Germany, product was Lynn's top singles player all season, occupying the No. 1 flight in every match this year. He logged an 11-5 overall record with a 5-3 tally in SSC action, highlighted by huge wins over third-ranked Pierre Montrieul of Barry and ninth-ranked Bruno Faleto of Saint Leo. He has also been nationally-ranked in singles and doubles the majority of the season.

Bartmann accumulated a league-best three SSC Player of the Week awards this season; bringing his career total at Lynn to five selections.

Bartmann and Clemares came together as a doubles pair at the tail end of last season and carried over their strong play into 2019, earning a position on the All-SSC First Team as the highest vote-getters in the league. The tandem logged a 10-3 overall record playing at the No. 1 doubles flight for Lynn while going 6-1 vs. league opponents.

Clemares has now received All-SSC Doubles honors in all three of his seasons at Lynn, with this being his first appearance on the First Team. He was named to the Second Team last year with Bartmann and in 2017 alongside Mehdi Laalej.

Nicolo De Fraia of Rollins College is awarded SSC Athlete of the Year honors following a 19-1 singles record from No. 1 singles position. In addition to his singles play, De Fraia and partner Frederick Danielson finished 13-6 this season at No. 2 doubles. The senior from Cagliari, Italy becomes the seventh Tar to win Athlete of the Year in men's tennis, first since 2012.

Saint Leo University's Bruno Faletto has been voted Freshman of the Year for 2019. Faletto posted an 18-1 spring record for the Lions, all at No. 1 singles, including a 6-1 mark in SSC play. He is the third Lion to be named Freshman of the Year, first since 2016.

League tennis coaches have named Barry's George Samuel as Coach of the Year after going 20-1 overall and 8-0 in SSC play this season. Under Samuel's instruction, No. 2 Barry heads to a 25th straight regional following the team's 15th conference tournament title. Samuel now owns the second most SSC Coach of the Year awards in a single sport after collecting his 16th this year. Factoring in women's tennis, Samuel has collected the most Coach of the Year awards in SSC history.

Barry's Pierre Montrieul highlights the repeat All-Conference honorees for 2019. Montrieul is named All-SSC for the fourth consecutive year, including back-to-back awards at First Team Singles. Andres Donayre of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University also earns back-to-back First Team accolades with Singles this year and Doubles a year ago. In total, eight of the nine upperclassman award winners repeat as All-SSC in 2019.

View the SSC release HERE.