Swimming Sending Largest Contingent Ever to NCAA National Championship

Swimming Sending Largest Contingent Ever to NCAA National Championship

Indianapolis, Ind. – Lynn University's women's swimming program will send the largest contingent in school history to the NCAA Division II Swimming & Diving National Championship as qualifiers were announced on Wednesday afternoon.  Catalina Berraud-Galea, Sarah Hughes, Samar Khacha and Karolina Smylek will compete individually while Hughes and Smylek are joined by Laia Coma and Clara Monges in the 400 medley relay. 

The national championship will be held March. 13-16, in Indianapolis, Ind. 

The Fighting Knights' four individual selections are the third-most from the Sunshine State Conference, trailing only Tampa (10) and Nova Southeastern (seven).  Florida Southern (three), Rollins (two), Florida Tech (one) and Saint Leo (one) gives the Sunshine State Conference a full complement of schools at nationals. 

Berraud-Galea is making her fourth consecutive NCAA Championship appearance, tying with Thalie Carmigniani as the only four-time NCAA qualifiers in program history.  The four-time SSC medalist in the 1650 freestyle will once again compete in the mile as well as the 1000 and 500 free as she looks to become a three-time All-American in the distance event. 

Hughes earns her third consecutive NCAA Championship appearance.  The Southampton, England, native is slated to compete in four events: 200 & 400 individual medley and 100 & 200 breaststroke.  Hughes is coming off a SSC Championship in which she medaled in all four events.  She earned All-America recognition in the 400 IM in 2017. 

Khacha, Smylek, Coma and Monges are all first-time qualifiers for the national championship.  Khacha earned her spot in the 400 IM while Smylek will compete in the 100 & 200 backstrokes.  Coma and Monges will team with Hughes and Smylek in the 400 medley relay.  

Lynn's four individuals are the most in program history, surpassing the three sent in 2015 & 2016 while the quartet of Smylek, Hughes, Monges and Coma are the first relay in program history to qualify for the NCAA Championship. 

Swimmers who finish in the top-eight at nationals automatically receive First Team All-America recognition while swimmers who place ninth through 16 earn Honorable Mention All-America honors.  Lynn has 22 All-America accolades, including nine first team selections.  Rebecca Matthews also won individual national championships in the 100 breaststroke (2015) and 200 breaststroke (2015 & 2016).