Swimming Nets a Program-Record Six CSCAA Scholar All-America Honors

Swimming Nets a Program-Record Six CSCAA Scholar All-America Honors

Colorado Springs, Colo. – Lynn University's swimming team netted a program-record six College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Scholar All-America Team honors, as announced on Tuesday. 

Catalina Berraud-Galea, Laia Coma, Sarah Hughes, Samar Khacha, Clara Monges and Karolina Smylek received recognition, doubling the previous Lynn swimming record set in 2015 & 2016.  Five of the six selections are first time honorees while Berraud-Galea becomes the third swimmer in school history to be a three-time award winner, joining Tyne Potgieter (2013-15) and Thalie Carmigniani (2013-16).

All six swimmers represented the Fighting Knights at the NCAA Division II National Championship.  It marked the largest contingent ever sent to the national championship, including the first relay to compete.

Lynn's six laurels tied with Tampa for second-most among Sunshine State Conference institutions.  Nova Southeastern led the way with 11 plaudits while Saint Leo garnered four honors and Rollins and Florida Tech three apiece.

CSCAA Scholar All-America recognizes student-athletes that have achieved a grade point average of 3.50 or higher and competed at their respective NCAA/NAIA/NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships. The selections, drawn from 190 colleges and universities across all Divisions, include CSCAA Swimmers-of-the-Year Beata Nelson (Wisconsin), Pol, Roch (Keiser), Honore Collins (NYU) and Mendy De Rooi (Cumberlands) and CSCAA Divers-of-the-Year Christina Sather (Clarion), Lindsey Ruderman (Amherst), Heath Ogata (Lake Forest), and Andrea Adam (Saint Ambrose). Thirty-eight student-athletes have maintained a perfect 4.0 GPA over their career with another 145 earning a 4.0 over the course of the semester.