Super Bowl Bound: Willig and Bogolii Claim National Doubles Championship

Super Bowl Bound: Willig and Bogolii Claim National Doubles Championship

Sumter, S.C. Diana Bogolii and Rosalie Willig of the Lynn University women's tennis team won both of their doubles matches in straight sets on Friday to be crowned the 2015 USTA/ITA Division II Small College National Champions and now move on to the 'Super Bowl' bracket.

The dynamic duo first took down St. Mary's Kaylin Kruseman and Jamie Lee Denton (6-3, 6-4) in the semifinals before defeating Nicole Fossa Huergo and Carolina Prats-Millan out of Armstrong State (6-2, 6-2) in the title match.

"Rosie and Diana both played great tennis today," head coach Mike Perez said. "They played smart and were highly motivated to win."

Willig and Bogolii become the first women's doubles team from Lynn to win the DII National Small College Championship since Marie Barbier and Monika Mastalirova did so in 2003.

"We are really happy that we can call ourselves national champions," Willig and Bogolii collectively stated. "But now we are even more pumped for a shot to win the Super Bowl."

The Fighting Knights return to the court tomorrow, Saturday, Oct. 17 at 1 p.m. for the first round of the Super Bowl, where the winners of the Division II, Division III, NAIA, and Junior College brackets compete for the ultimate prize. Up first is the Division III champions, Eudice Chong and Victoria Yu from Wesleyan University.

This marks the third year in a row the Lynn's women's tennis team has claimed a DII national championship at the event, as Valentine Confalonieri won the singles title in 2013 and 2014. Daniel Riggs and Paolo Volpicelli also won the doubles title in 2014 on the men's side to mark the fourth DII national championship for Lynn in the past three years.

For more information on the women's tennis program at Lynn University, log on to Don't forget to 'Like' us on Facebook and follow @Lynn_Knights on Twitter and Instagram.