Women’s Tennis Earns ITA Academic Recognition

Women’s Tennis Earns ITA Academic Recognition

Tempe, Ariz. – Lynn University's women's tennis team demonstrated its academic prowess by earning Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic Team honors on Tuesday along with seven ITA Scholar-Athlete awards.

In all, 735 teams and 4,328 student-athletes across all five divisions of college tennis were honored.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners were factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2017 and spring 2018).

This marks the eighth consecutive year the program has earned ITA All-Academic Team accolades and is the fifth straight year with at least five individuals named Scholar-Athletes.

Newcomers Klaudia Boczova, Natalie Kallmunzerova, Eleonora Liga, Federica Mordegan, Anastacia Parkin and Eliska Petrackova all earned their first career Scholar-Athlete plaudits while Diana Bogolii picks up her second accolade after a one-year hiatus from the list.

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Lynn was one of 105 Division II institutions to collect ITA All-Academic Team honors after posting a cumulative team GPA of 3.76. Joining Lynn from the Sunshine State Conference is Barry, Eckerd, Embry-Riddle, Florida Tech, Florida Southern, Nova Southeastern, Palm Beach Atlantic, Rollins, Saint Leo and Tampa.

View the ITA release with the full list of honorees HERE.