Women’s Tennis Announced SSC Regular Season Champions

Women’s Tennis Announced SSC Regular Season Champions

Melbourne, Fla. – The 2019 slate of Sunshine State Conference women's tennis matches concluded yesterday and it was announced today that the Lynn University women's tennis team is crowned the 2019 SSC Regular Season Champions.

The Blue and White closed out the 2019 regular season undefeated, going 10-0 in league play and 19-0 overall, marking the program's first perfect regular season since 2009.

The women's tennis program garners its first SSC Regular Season Championship and 11th overall, having won the tournament title 10 times – most recently in 2016. The conference began naming regular-season tennis champions in 2014.

Lynn University now boasts 40 SSC Championships, having won its 39th just two days at the women's golf championship.

The bracket for the 2019 SSC Women's Tennis Tournament was also released today, with the Blue and White securing the No. 2 seed. Seeding is based on the regular season performance of SSC teams and all applicable SSC Bylaws.

As the No. 2 seed, Lynn will first take on No. 7 seed Rollins in the quarterfinal round. During the regular season, the Fighting Knights defeated the Tars, 7-0.

All quarterfinal matches will be played at 3:30 p.m. on Friday, April 26, while the semifinals will take place at 2 p.m. on Saturday, April 27. The championship and third-place matches are slated to start at 1 p.m. on Sunday, April 28.

All tournament matches will be hosted by Nova Southeastern University at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Fla.

View the SSC Tournament Central page HERE.