Volleyball Trio Named to Shark Invite All-Tournament Team

Volleyball Trio Named to Shark Invite All-Tournament Team

Fort Lauderdale, Fla. – Following a 3-0 showing at the 11th Annual Shark Invitational held at Nova Southeastern this past weekend, the Lynn University volleyball team boasted three players on the All-Tournament Team as voted on by the coaches and released on Tuesday.

Sonja Udovcic, Rafaela Fonseca and Isadora Nicolai all received the honor. Lynn was the only team at the event to produce three players on the All-Tournament Team.

The Fighting Knights won all three of their matches this weekend, starting with a 3-0 sweep over Texas A&M International on Friday before grabbing wins over Babson (3-0) and Missouri S&T (3-1) on Saturday.

Udovcic led the offensive attack on the weekend, posting team-highs in kills (39) and kills per set (3.90) at a .205 attack clip. She tacked on 31 digs (3.10) and three blocks defensively. Udovcic had her best showing in the final match of the tournament, recording a 17-kill, 16-dig double-double with a .239 hitting percentage.

Fonseca led all Lynn pin hitters in efficiency, posting 35 kills (3.50 per set) at an impressive .312 attack percentage. She added 32 digs, ranking second on the squad at 3.20 per set, with six blocks. A target on the opponent's serve, Fonseca saw a whopping 80 serves come here way in the back row, but responded with a .962 serve-receive clip. Her best outing came against Babson where she hit a career-best .545, tallying 14 kills in 22 swings.

Nicolai adds another accolade at the start of her young career as the freshmen setter guided the Lynn offense to .252 hitting percentage on the weekend. She racked up 106 assists, averaging 10.6 per set, and ranked second on the squad with six service aces. Defensively, Nicolai added 25 digs and six blocks.

Lynn opens up conference play on the road at nationally-ranked Palm Beach Atlantic this Friday, Sept. 7. First serve is slated for 7 p.m.

2018 NSU Shark Invitational All-Tournament Team

Abby Beecher – Babson
Kristin Carosotto – Babson
Annie Deininger – Texas A&M International
Emilee Schlader – Missouri S&T
Carlie Combs – Missouri S&T
Sonja Udovcic – Lynn
Rafaela Fonseca – Lynn
Isadora Nicolai – Lynn

Denvyr Tyler-Palmer – Nova Southeastern
Samantha Blasko – Nova Southeastern