Women’s Cross Country’s Le Tertre Garners Freshman of the Year and All-SSC Honors

Women’s Cross Country’s Le Tertre Garners Freshman of the Year and All-SSC Honors

Melbourne, Fla. – Emannuelle Le Tertre has been named Freshman of the Year and Second Team All-Sunshine State Conference, as announced by the league office on Wednesday. Le Tertre finished eighth overall at the SSC Championship on Nov. 3.

The Sainte Terre, France native marked the best finish for Lynn's contingent at the SSC Championship and marked the best finish among all freshman in the race. Le Tertre was the Fighting Knights' top finisher in each of the four races she competed in this season.

Le Tertre becomes the first women's runner from Lynn to win an individual SSC award in the program's history. She finished with two individual top-10 finishes this season and logged sub-19 minute times in all three of her 5k races.

The freshman was the fourth Fighting Knight to ever finish inside the top-10 at the SSC Championship. Le Tertre finished the conference race with a time of 22:49.99, which marks the third-best 6k time in program history. She finishes 2018 with three 5k times in the top-10 in Lynn's program history. Le Tertre joins Gabriella Wuyke (2012, 2013) and Sarah Northup (2014) as the only women's cross country runners to earn All-SSC honors.

Le Tertre's eighth-place finish awarded her Second Team All-SSC honors. The top seven runners at the conference meet make the All-SSC First Team while runners 8-14 take All-SSC Second Team honors. SSC Runner, Freshman and Coach of the Year awards are voted on by coaches in the league.

Sarah Edens of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University was named SSC Runner of the Year while Tampa's Jarrett Slaven earned Coach of the Year for the 14th time.

The Fighting Knights are back in action this Saturday, Nov. 17, as they travel to Lakeland, Fla. for NCAA Regionals.

View the SSC release with the full list of honorees HERE.